© Artifice | All rights reserved
 
Press only

Olivia Asselin

Freestyle skier
19100

Social media reach

13

World Cup Starts

1

X Games Medals

1

Olympic Games

Olivia’s parents first introduced her to skiing when she was four years old. Olivia can remember how excited she would get when her parents took the whole family to Mont Orignal, a small ski hill located two hours away from their house.

 

When Olivia was eight years old, her family rented a condo in Stoneham for the winter. This helped Olivia discover the world of freestyle skiing. Olivia would see kids from the local freestyle ski club rip around the mountain, jumping and doing tricks. This sparked Olivia’s interest in freestyle, and joined the Stoneham Freestyle Ski Club the following year.

 

Olivia started off by training and competing for three years in all disciplines: moguls, aerials and slopestyle. This gave the young skier strong basics, but Olivia found that she enjoyed trying new tricks in the park and hitting rails instead of skiing in the bumps.

 

Olivia decided to specialize in slopestyle at the age of 12, and spent two more winters with the Stoneham club before moving onto the Quebec team at 14. After one year on the Canada Cup and NorAm circuit plus competing at the 2019 Junior World Championships in Klëppen, Sweden, Olivia earned a spot on the national team.

 

By the next winter, Olivia got to travel around the world doing the sport she loves and feels very lucky to be able to experience life on the National Team at such a young age. Olivia had a successful rookie season where she ended the 2019-2020 season top 10 on the overall World Cup standings.

 

On January 21st, 2022, after being invited as an alternate, Olivia competed in her first X Games event. She shook the world by grabbing her first ever international medal with the bronze at the Big Air event.

 

In February 2022, at only 17 years old (2nd youngest athlete in the Canadian delegation), Olivia realizes the dream of her life by participating in the Beijing Olympics. Among the 7 athletes representing Canada in Big Air and Slopestyle, Olivia is the only athlete to qualify for the final of both disciplines, finishing 8th and 11th respectively. Moreover, through these spectacular performances at a young age, she leaves an emotional imprint engraved forever in the imagination of her many supporters.

OLYMPIC GAMES
2022 | 8th place – Beijing Olympic Games (Big Air)
2022 | 11th place – Beijing Olympic Games (Slopestyle)

 

WORLD CUPS & CHAMPIONSHIPS
2022 | Champion – STOMP Big Air New Zealand
2022 | 3rd place – X Games (Big Air)

Armada

Canac

Oakley

Robover

D-Structure

Full Tilt Boots

© Artifice | Tous droits réservés
 
Press only

Olivia Asselin

Skieuse acrobatique (Slopestyle, Big Air)
13000

Portée - Réseaux sociaux

10

Départs - Coupes du Monde

1

Médaille - X Games

1

Jeux Olympiques

Les parents d’Olivia lui ont fait découvrir le ski pour la première fois à l’âge de quatre ans. Olivia se souvient à quel point elle était excitée lorsque ses parents emmenaient toute la famille au Mont Orignal, une petite station de ski située à deux heures de chez eux.

 

Quand Olivia avait huit ans, sa famille a loué un condo à Stoneham pour l’hiver. Cela a permis à Olivia de découvrir le monde du ski acrobatique. Olivia voyait les enfants du club de ski acrobatique local dévaler la montagne, sauter et faire des figures. Cela a suscité l’intérêt d’Olivia pour le freestyle et elle a rejoint le Stoneham Freestyle Ski Club l’année suivante.

 

Olivia a commencé par s’entraîner et compétitionner pendant trois ans dans toutes les disciplines : bosses, sauts et slopestyle. Cela lui a donné des bases solides, mais Olivia a découvert qu’elle aimait essayer de nouvelles figures dans le parc et « rider » des rails au lieu de skier dans les bosses.

 

Olivia décide finalement de se spécialiser en slopestyle à l’âge de 12 ans et passe deux autres hivers avec le club Stoneham, avant de rejoindre l’équipe du Québec à 14 ans. Après un an sur la Coupe Canada et le circuit NorAm, en plus de participer aux Championnats du monde juniors 2019 à Klëppen (Suède), elle obtient enfin sa place sur l’équipe nationale.

 

L’hiver suivant, la jeune skieuse voyage à travers le monde pour pratiquer le sport qu’elle aime et se sent très chanceuse de pouvoir faire l’expérience de la vie au sein de l’équipe nationale et ce à un si jeune âge. Elle connait une saison recrue réussie où elle termine dans le top 10 de la saison 2019-2020 au classement général de la Coupe du monde.

 

Le 21 janvier 2022, après avoir débuté la journée en tant que remplaçante au Big Air, Olivia reçu une invitation officielle des X Games et secoua le monde entier en obtenant sa toute première médaille internationale (bronze) et ce à sa toute première compétition en X Games.

 

En février 2022, à seulement 17 ans (2e plus jeune athlète de la délégation canadienne), Olivia réalise le rêve de sa vie en participant aux Jeux Olympiques de Pékin. Parmi les 7 athlètes représentants le Canada en Big air et Slopestyle, Olivia est la seule athlète à se qualifier pour la finale des 2 disciplines, finissant respectivement au 8e et 11e rang. Elle laisse d’ailleurs par ces prestations spectaculaires en jeune âge une empreinte émotive gravée à jamais dans l’imaginaire de ses nombreux supporteurs.

8e Position – Jeux Olympiques – Big Air – Pékin | 2022
11e Position – Jeux Olympiques – Slopestyle – Pékin | 2022
Médaille de bronze – X Games – Big Air – Aspen | 2022
Top 10 Classement général – Coupes du monde – Slopestyle et Big Air | 2020
#4 Slopestyle – Coupe du monde – Mammoth Mountain | 2022
#5 Big Air – Coupe du monde – Steamboat | 2021
#9 Slopestyle – Coupe du monde – Stubai | 2021

Armada

Canac

Oakley

D-Structure

Full Tilt Boots