© Artifice | All rights reserved
 

Laurent Dubreuil

Speed skater
6000

Social Media Reach

37

World Cup Medals

5

World Champs medals

1

Olympic medal

Laurent Dubreuil is a silver Olympic medallist at Beijing 2022 (1000m), the reigning World Champion (500m) and the 2nd fastest man in history in long track speed skating.

 

Son of Olympian parents, Laurent Dubreuil began speed skating at the age of four. Although he tried many other sports as a child, being on the ice was what made him happy. He joined the national team in 2010, after his first appearance at the Junior World Championship. In 2012, he smashed the Junior World Record and won the Junior World Championship in the 500m distance. His progress was fast and he was on his way to qualify for the Olympic Games in Sochi.

 

Unfortunately, Laurent had a disappointing qualification result and missed the Games by 0.04 seconds. After this huge disappointment, he bounced back in 2015 and collected the first 5 World Cup medals of his career, as well as a bronze medal at the World Championship, becoming the first Quebecer since 1998 to win a World Championship medal. He culminated this Olympic cycle with a participation in the 500m and 1000m at the Olympic Games in PyeongChang.

 

In 2019, little Rose was born and Laurent became a father. Since then, his career has taken off spectacularly. Indeed, the last two seasons were the best of his career, with 10 medals in the World Cup season and 4 in the World Championship, including the title of World Champion in the 500m in 2021.

 

After a disappointment at the Beijing Olympics, finishing 4th in the 500m, the skater from Lévis (Quebec) bounced back beautifully and showed great resilience by winning the silver medal in the 1000m.

Olympian – Pyeongchang 2018
World Champion (500m) – World Championships | 2021
Canadian record (500m) with a time of 33:77 – Calgary | 2021
2nd fastest skater in history (500m) with a time of 33:77 – Calgary | 2021
Fastest skater in history (Firsts 200m)- Canadian Championships | 2021
Fastest skater in history (Firsts 600m)- Canadian Championships | 2021
Canadian champion (500m)- Canadian Championships | 2021
Canadian champion (1000m)- Canadian Championships | 2021
Bronze (1000m)- World Championships | 2021
Silver (Sprint) – World Championships | 2020
Bronze (1000m) – World Championships | 2020
Bronze (500m) – World Championships | 2015
37 World Cup Medals

RBC

Kraft Peanut Butter

IGA

CAN Fund

Oakley

Fondation Nordique

© Artifice | Tous droits réservés
 

Laurent Dubreuil

Patineur de vitesse
5000

Portée - Réseaux sociaux

37

Médailles - Coupes du Monde

5

Médailles - Championnats du Monde

1

Médaille - Jeux Olympiques

Laurent Dubreuil est médaillé d’argent aux Jeux Olympiques de Pékin 2022 (1000m), ainsi que le champion du monde en titre (500 m) de patinage de vitesse longue piste. Il est également le deuxième homme le plus rapide de l’histoire sur cette même distance.

 

Fils de parents olympiens, Laurent Dubreuil a commencé le patinage de vitesse à l’âge de quatre ans. Bien qu’il ait essayé de nombreux autres sports dans son enfance, être sur la glace était ce qui le rendait le plus heureux. Il a rejoint l’équipe nationale en 2010, après sa première apparition aux Championnats du monde junior. En 2012, il a battu le record du monde junior et remporté les championnats du monde junior sur 500m. Il progresse rapidement et passe tout près de se qualifier pour les Jeux Olympiques de Sotchi.

 

Malheureusement, Laurent récolte un mauvais résultat en qualification et rate les Jeux Olympiques de 0,04 seconde seulement. Après cette énorme déception, il rebondit en 2015 et récolte les cinq premières médailles en Coupe du monde de sa carrière, ainsi qu’une médaille de bronze aux Championnats du monde, devenant ainsi le premier Québécois depuis 1998 à remporter une médaille en Championnats du monde. Il culmine ce cycle olympique avec une participation aux 500m et 1000m aux Jeux Olympiques de PyeongChang, en 2018.

 

En 2019, la petite Rose nait et Laurent devient papa pour la première fois. Depuis, sa carrière a pris un essor spectaculaire: les deux dernières saisons ont été les meilleures de sa carrière, avec dix médailles en Coupe du monde et quatre en Championnats du monde, dont le titre de Champion du monde sur 500m en 2021.

 

Après une grande déception aux Jeux Olympiques de Pékin, terminant 4e lors du 500m, le patineur de Lévis (Québec) a rebondit de magnifique façon et a fait preuve d’une grande résilience en mettant la main sur la médaille d’argent au 1000m!

  • Médaillé d’argent (1000m) – Jeux Olympiques de Pékin | 2022
  • 4e position (500m) – Jeux Olympiques de Pékin | 2022
  • Champion du monde (500m) – Championnats du Monde | 2021
  • Record canadien (500m) avec un chrono de 33.47 – Calgary | 2021
  • Deuxième homme le plus rapide de l’histoire (500m) avec un chrono de  33.47 – Calgary | 2021
  • Chrono le plus rapide de l’histoire (Premiers 200m) – Championnats canadiens | 2021
  • Chrono le plus rapide de l’histoire (Premiers 600m) – Championnats canadiens | 2021
  • Champion canadien (500m) – Championnats canadiens | 2021
  • Champion canadien (1000m) – Championnats canadiens | 2021
  • Bronze (1000m)- Championnats du Monde | 2021
  • Argent (Sprint) – Championnats du Monde | 2020
  • Bronze (1000m) – Championnats du Monde | 2020
  • Bronze (500m) – Championnats du Monde | 2015
  • 37 Médailles en Coupes du monde

RBC

Kraft Peanut Butter

IGA

CAN Fund

Oakley

Fondation Nordique